Bogota, Colombia – Miami, FL | AA 2170 | 3F

by

After a great Thanksgiving weekend in Bogota, it was time to head back to Miami.   The “El Dorado” Airport in Bogota had been closed for several days due to rain so I decided to call reservations the day before my flight to see if there were any known delays.   At one time in history, this was a recommended procedure for all flights, especially international flights.  The agent didn’t seem to know how handle my simple request in that I wanted to know of any known delays.    I had to walk her through the analysis.   One- are there any official delays for my reserved flight.   No, she says.   Two – Has the flight for tonight (Sunday night) left for Bogota as this will be the aircraft for my departing flight in the morning (Monday)?  Yes, but it was delayed leaving Miami, but it is in route now.   Ok, so we have an airplane and a crew that will also be stuck in Bogota with me should the airport be closed on Monday am.   Three – I then asked how the rest of the flights had been leaving Bogota during Sunday.   She gave me the run down on the delays for Sunday.   In summary, the flights were leaving late, but they were leaving.   I have to ask if any of these reservation agents have ever used their travel benefits with their employer or if they just like sitting somewhere in the Carolinas.   Get out and travel people…it is fun and you will be a better agent!

On Monday morning, the check-in process at American and clearing Colombia immigration were both usually slow, even for international travel.   The flight left on time, arrived on time, and I didn’t test the champagne inventory on this 757 as I had already had a pleasant holiday weekend.  For those who choose their aircraft carefully, the same flight felt completely different in a 757 then in a 767 aircraft.   Go BIG!

Until next time, Randy

Exec Plat Traveler - Randy Moreau

Tags:

Leave a Reply

