Why it’s over between me and US Airways

by

It was good while it lasted. Sure, we had our ups and downs, but I always forgave them. Living 30 miles outside of Albany, NY and having to travel via air a bit, I came to count on US Airway’s frequent connections. I didn’t hold them responsible for all of the many travel nightmares I had at the country’s worst airport (Philadelphia) and didn’t blame them when they lost my bags (often), had mechanical problems (occasionally), or had delays that caused me to miss connections (too frequently to count.) I still appreciated what they did for me, and the fact that they got me from point a to point b safely and on-time-ish.

I was Chairman’s preferred on US Airways for two years, but started switching to United after a few too many delays at Philadelphia, including one where they told me they couldn’t get me home for three days so I recruited another stranded passenger to drive and rented a car. I hate to drive, but that is a story for another day.

The reason for the break-up is simple – they screwed me over. I am taking Maddie to Disney in July and booked our flights on US Airways. I was filling out travel forms earlier for another trip and realized that the agent I spoke to booked us on the wrong day. So, I called US Air and asked them to switch the flight to a day earlier. “I’m sorry, award travel is not available the morning of the 14th.”

So, I told her to sell me a ticket and just redeposit my miles. “I’m sorry, it will cost you $100 per ticket to cancel your ticket and redeposit the miles into your Dividend Miles account.”

“That can’t be right,” I say. “I want to use my miles, but you are telling me there is no flight. So instead I am going to buy my ticket and use my miles another time. And, oh by the way, your agent screwed it up to begin with.”

“Oh, I understand. But we can’t give you your miles back for free. There is a $100 charge per ticket to redeposit your miles. What credit card will you be using?” asked the US Unfair Shrew.

Suffice it to say I am not redepositing my miles, nor did I buy my ticket on US Airways. I bought the ticket on Southwest, and was pleasantly surprised that it was cheaper and a direct flight, getting me in to Orlando an hour earlier than US Unfair would have. So, I’ve dumped US Air for Southwest. I’m sure lots of other airlines would love to have the 125+ flights per year that I used to book on US Unfair.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

